The Grief of an Ex-Wife

When I wrote this blog in 2011; I never thought that it would reach and touch some many people’s hearts. I am so grateful for the voices of each and every one of you. Know that you are in my thoughts and that I read every post and send you all healing. It is amazing what time does. My discussions with my boys about their dad are much easier these days. Anger has subsided, a soft gentleness is more than likely present in our remembrances. My wish for each of you is that you get to this place of tenderness that we have gotten to. It is wonderful.

Namaste. – Teri

Community House

It has been a little over a year since my ex-husband died. A year of shepherding my two almost adult sons through the toughest times of their young lives. A year of learning that the grieving process is not really a process, it has no rhyme nor reason; just an ebb and flow.

A year has passed and the boys are coming to an understand what it means to be fatherless. What it means to not have him in their lives. They are coming to terms with the bitter disappoint that comes with an unexpected death. Coming to terms with what was left unsaid and unanswered.

And so am I.

But as who? I am no longer a divorcee nor am I a widow. Was I allowed to be publicly sad, to mourn the loss? People just didn’t know what to do with me.  And I didn’t know what to do with…

View original post 616 more words

About teriost

life is good and only getting better - looking for ways to see the heart of a person each and every day - if the chatter is too loud - simply turn down the volume - but don't tune out - you might miss something grand!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Grief of an Ex-Wife

  1. Codi says:

    Hi Teri,

    I couldn’t find a direct contact for you. I work for a grief resource company called Grief Watch that puts out a monthly email newsletter. I am putting together a newsletter on grieving deaths of people that you had a complicated relationship with (estranged parents, ex-spouses, etc), and am wondering if you would be willing to give us permission to use “The Grief of an Ex-Wife” in it? Can you please email me either with any questions that you might have, or to let me know if we can share your article? You can check out our website http://www.griefwatch.com, or view last month’s newsletter here: http://www.griefwatch.com/media/wysiwyg/pdf-downloads/May_2016.pdf if that would help you to make your decision.

    Thank you for your time and consideration,
    codi@griefwatch.com

Leave a Reply

