I {HEART} Doris Day & Rock Hudson – there, I admitted it!

True Confession…I am a red-blooded, valentine-heart carrying romantic. Surprised? So am I.  Hudson & Day’s Pillow Talk, Lover Come Back and Send Me No Flowers rank among my all-time favorite movies list. They make my eyes spring tears of romantic joy and hope. Saturday afternoons of my youth were spent watching late 50s/early 60s romantic comedies and musicals on Channel 44 (cable station 12). Life had a musical score. All in technicolor. All with a happy ending. Boy gets girl. Girl gets boy. Happily ever after. The End. Cue Final Credits.

Don’t even get me started on Three Coins in a Fountain. That topic deserves special attention. Back to Rock and Doris.

Rock. Doris. Hudson. Day. They had a special chemistry. A fine balance of friends and lovers. They were opposite ends of the magnet that somehow connected. Their on-screen relationship skewed my vision of what love is/was for decades.

These days, I am brought to tears by most of Adele’s songs and croon along with her as drive here and there; occasionally choking up when a poignant verse strikes a deep heartstring. But I have become a closeted romantic. If you were to ask my friends to list my character traits, “romantic” would not make their top 20 list – maybe not even their top 100. What happened? Why have I buried this essential puzzle piece of my soul? I am actually embarrassed when I confront this face of my self. I rarely share this side of me (except for now, for the entire world to experience). I prefer to wear my steadfast and practical mask when I am out and about. It is safe and there is no crying involved.

So as I ponder my inner romantic and try to figure out why I locked her away and more importantly, what I want to do about this personal revelation; let’s wander through what being romantic means to me.

#1 The good guy always wins (which is probably why I also enjoy good westerns and action movies, as well)
#2 Couples reach past their own preconceptions about themselves and others to finally connect with Love
#3 Words spoken have deep meaning and are powerful
#4 Glances stolen speak volumes and curl toes
#5 Caresses given are never casual and cause deep sighs of contentment

Being a romantic means that in the end, no matter what happens, everything will work out just as it was meant to be. There are sunsets to share, creeks to wade in and whispered promises that come true.

Being a romantic means life is lived filled with hope and expectancy.

I am not sure when the bright cherry red light of the romantic dimmed for me. Maybe my expectations of others are such that no has yet to match them. (YET = Romantic) Maybe outside space is too harsh for my romantic soul and I have hard to harden it to survive. Living day to day demands a great deal of attention and it seems that I have left some of the most important aspects of self alongside my path.

What I do know is when I knock on my romantic soul’s door – it is always opened on the first knock. I am warmly and deeply embraced. My heart quickly overflows and fills me with a glow that causes tears to well up, all the while, there is a broad grin across my face. Then, I furtively look around to make sure no one has caught me. I guess, I have some work to do.

I believe these days the world needs a BIG dose of the romantic. Of hope. Of remembering and believing that the improbable can happen. Yes, we ALL most definitely need a draught of the romantic. Who knows what ills it will cure?

But for now, I am settling for a Hudson/Day movie marathon, watched in order, with a big bowl of popcorn and even bigger box of Kleenex.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Love,
The biggest romantic fool ever

About teriost

life is good and only getting better - looking for ways to see the heart of a person each and every day - if the chatter is too loud - simply turn down the volume - but don't tune out - you might miss something grand!
This entry was posted in childhood, choices, love, movies, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

