Where was this song when I needed it last summer?

It is amazing what perspective a year’s passing can give. I should have let him go the day I met him.  It only took about 11 years. Ehh, I must be a slow learner OR just an easy forgiver, maybe both!

Thanks to Adele for encapsulating exactly how I felt.  She is an AMAZING lyricist and chanteuse!

Melt My Heart to Stone – Adele

Right under my feet is air made of bricks
It pulls me down and turns me weak for you
I find myself repeatin’ like a broken tune
And I’m forever excusin’ your intentions

Then I give in to my pretendings
Which forgive you each time
Without me knowing
They melt my heart to stone

And I hear your words that I made up
You say my name like there could be an us
I best tidy up my head, I’m the only one in love
I’m the only one in love

Each and every time I turn around to leave
I feel my heart begin to burst and bleed
So desperately I try to link it with my head

But instead I fall back to my knees
As you tear away right through me
I forgive you once again
Without me knowin’
You’ve burnt my heart to stone

And I hear your words that I made up
You say my name like there could be an us
I best tidy up my head, I’m the only one in love
I’m the only one in love

Why do you steal my hand
Whenever I’m standin’ my own ground?
You build me up and leave me there

I hear your words you made up
I say your name like there should be an us
I best tidy up my head, I’m the only one in love
I’m the only one in love.

Maybe one day, I will be able to write about this relationship without feeling emptiness and sorrow. Until that time, I’ll keep feeling and try to remember the lessons I culled from these lyrics.

About teriost

life is good and only getting better - looking for ways to see the heart of a person each and every day - if the chatter is too loud - simply turn down the volume - but don't tune out - you might miss something grand!
This entry was posted in choices, love, music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where was this song when I needed it last summer?

  1. Erin says:

    Touched by this. Thanks for being so open. Don’t think I’ve heard this before -glad to take it in now! Beautiful!

    • teriost says:

      Aren’t her lyrics just so remarkable? She’s not even 25! And her voice! Yowza! She had to cancel her show her in the Bay Area – I hope to see her next time around. Glad to hear that you are doing better!

Leave a Reply

