End of the Endless Summer – #reverb10

December 16, 2010

#reverb10 Prompt by @curiousmartha: Friendship. How has a friend changed you or your perspective on the world this year? Was this change gradual, or a sudden burst?

“I meant every word I said.”

Those six words, spoken in one of the most awkward moments of my life, changed not only me, but my perspective on MY world this year.  This summer, in one sentence, my world contracted. A friend walked away. A friend who will forever remain close to my heart. My world is less soulful; more hollow.  Although the loss isn’t as raw now; there is always a moment every day when I think about him, what I would say or how I would have done things differently.

How has my perspective changed? I struggle to find my “everything is going to turn out alright” vibe. I no longer feel anchored by the belief of having a kindred spirit. There is a sadness that ebbs and flows throughout my day. 

This is not to say that I have been crippled by this dissolution. There is also a burgeoning strength; an assertion of my spirit that has proven powerful enough to push me through the grief. I understand what we were together and I am working on making our oneness my own power; no longer shared by two but carried solo by me.

Has my perspective changed? Hell yes. I miss him every day and respectfully bless his decision. (An interesting balancing act, let me tell you!)

BUT I am living life colorfully and larger every day.

AND I realize that my possibilities are endless, my friendships are true and my world is boundless.

Somethings must end in order for new things to begin. THAT is my new perspective.

About teriost

life is good and only getting better - looking for ways to see the heart of a person each and every day - if the chatter is too loud - simply turn down the volume - but don't tune out - you might miss something grand!
This entry was posted in choices, faith, Friends, love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to End of the Endless Summer – #reverb10

  1. beautiful written, relatable and inspiring again Terri – thank you.

Leave a Reply

