High School Perspectives – Mine & My Son’s

I have been stumbling down memory lane today and I gotta tell ya, it is a bit distracting. Re-discovering the people and events that have taken up residence in the archives of my mind draws a lot of my mental capacity. It is a pleasant distraction. What amazes me is the amount of things that I have forgotten, yet still remembered. I had sort of forgotten what my first boyfriend looked like; yet when I saw a picture of us together, I could remember what his arms felt like around me and the fact that he always wore flannel shirts.  I dislike the fact that I do not know what happened to him, he was a great guy.

These memories flared up because of  Facebook. This networking tool has the capacity to draw your past into your present, all in all a good thing, but strange nonetheless. An old friend had posted pictures of a trip our high school band had taken down to Arizona – and there I was in all of my freshman year’s glory – I didn’t even know those pictures existed.  Yet they conjured up so much within me – joy, delight and a connectedness to my past that I thought I had lost.  Those were some good times and that bus was so damned crowded!

As my mind filled with memories and I see that  “That 70’s Show” had nothing on the craziness that existed in the band room of Leigh High School in the last years of that decade.  Thank goodness we didn’t have cellphones with built-in video back in the day!

I have been struggling with finding parallels between my high school experience and that of my youngest son’s.  I am currently watching my youngest struggling to close out what has been one of the toughest years anyone, much less a 16 year old, should go through. What are his memories of his time in high school going to be? I can look back on even my darkest hours of my teenage years and I hold no sorrow, no regrets — well just one or two — mostly around the Sadie Hawkins Dance of 1980.  But for him, he has had deep tragedies occur. Thirty years from now what will his perspective be? Will he be able to see how these events shaped him into being the wonderful man he is destined to be? Or will he only taste the bitterness of loss and grief?

I thought I could relate – but in reality I cannot. Hmmmm…

About teriost

life is good and only getting better - looking for ways to see the heart of a person each and every day - if the chatter is too loud - simply turn down the volume - but don't tune out - you might miss something grand!
This entry was posted in childhood, choices, Friends, sons and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to High School Perspectives – Mine & My Son’s

Leave a Reply

