A Dog Hair of a Quote…

“Genuine love is volitional rather than emotional. The person who truly loves, does so because of a decision to love. This person has made a commitment to be loving, whether or not the loving feeling is present.”  -M. Scott Peck

 

I was blog surfing last week and I don’t remember where I pulled this quote. But it has been like dog hair on my pants – it just keeps sticking with me.  As much as I try to remove it from my the thoughts, it stays and the inverse (is that the right word? I always confuse it with converse) has as well. The person who doesn’t love, does so because of a decision NOT to love.  hmm.

 

The Beatles told us that “All we need is love”. But according to Peck, all we need is to choose love.  Who do I believe? The Fab Four or M. Scott? Feeling vs. Action? Damn you, Danielle Steele!

 

P.S. It is still dancing around my brain. Not dirty dancing at the moment, more like a slow flowing waltz. Its going to be interesting to see where this one lands.

 

Would enjoy reading your thoughts about this.

About schetgenhaus

life is good and only getting better - looking for ways to see the heart of a person each and every day - if the chatter is too loud - simply turn down the volume - but don't tune out - you might miss something grand!
This entry was posted in choices, laughing at life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Dog Hair of a Quote…

  1. Erin Diffenderfer says:

    Now it is stuck in my head – will get back to you on it! 🙂 One thing I know – you write very well!

Leave a Reply

