“No, just the pie, but then not heated.”

Acceptance is half the battle? Right? I think that I have finally accepted that I might possibly, more than likely, am high maintenance.

You do not seemed surprised.

This blinding revelation came to me when I realized four things. First, it is January. Second, that means new tennies and new undies.  Third, I am excited about this and fourth, it could be no other way. After all, February is new towels month.

How did this happen? Have I always been this rigid, but never was willing to recognize it? I always thought I was a spontaneous, spur o’ the moment , low maintenance kind of gal. Obviously not.  This reminds me of  “When Harry Met Sally” and Harry and Sally are having dinner. I remember watching the following scene with my fiance, who nudged me and then pointed between me and the screen. I shook my head, but at the same time there was definitely a twinge of recognition.

Harry Burns: There are two kinds of women: high maintenance and low maintenance.
Sally Albright: Which one am I?
Harry Burns: You’re the worst kind; you’re high maintenance but you think you’re low maintenance.
Sally Albright: I don’t see that.
Harry Burns: You don’t see that? Waiter, I’ll begin with a house salad, but I don’t want the regular dressing. I’ll have the balsamic vinegar and oil, but on the side. And then the salmon with the mustard sauce, but I want the mustard sauce on the side. “On the side” is a very big thing for you.
Sally Albright: Well, I just want it the way I want it.
Harry Burns: I know; high maintenance.

That’s my salad AND my entrée. Do not EVEN get me started on my coffee order! I am scared. I am the worst kind, a high maintenance woman who thinks she is low maintenance. And I don’t think I like it very much.

Not only is January my tennies and undies month; Friday night is pizza night; Sunday evening is family night and I think that the week between Christmas and New Year’s is my official week of depression. (See my earlier post.)

I can tell you that I don’t like going for two for one drinks on Tuesdays because we have gone for two for one drinks on Mondays forever and a day. Candle wicks  must be burned immediately upon entering my home because my mom says so and I hold fast to a weekday bedtime of 10 PM.

Is there a correlation between high standards and high maintenance? If so, this could explain my dating issues.  And that is just another conversation all together.

At this point in life, there isn’t much hope in completely changing my course. I think I might be able to alter it a tad; but switching from high to low might be a stretch. Although I don’t have any official resolutions this year, I think I will attempt to move from high to medium high maintenance.

What would switching from high to medium high maintenance look like you ask? Hmmm…maybe I’ll go crazy and wait and purchase my tennies in February. I get to buy them again in July, before I go camping, but don’t get to wear the new ones until I get back in August.  

UGH. I am doomed!

Sally: But I’d like the pie heated, and I don’t want the ice cream on top. I want it on the side, and I’d like strawberry instead of vanilla if you have it. If not, then no ice cream, just whipped cream, but only if it’s real. If it’s out of the can, then nothing.
Waitress: Not even the pie?
Sally: No, just the pie, but then not heated.

-When Harry Met Sally – Castle Rock Entertainment, 1989.

Enough said.

About schetgenhaus

life is good and only getting better - looking for ways to see the heart of a person each and every day - if the chatter is too loud - simply turn down the volume - but don't tune out - you might miss something grand!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “No, just the pie, but then not heated.”

  1. Terri – this is good stuff!! You can write girl and high maintenance or not – you will always have a specila place in my heart! Keep on writing

  2. Mary Jane says:

    hee hee… come join me on a Monday!

Leave a Reply

