A Spoonful of Cinnamon

As of late, I feel arid. No juices flowing, no mojo, no nothing.  Like I tried to eat a tablespoon of cinnamon.

If you don’t know what I am referring to, there’s a viral experiment being recorded and played on the internet; eating a tablespoon of cinnamon. Supposedly, it cannot be done. My friend’s daughter’s boyfriend (did you follow that?) and his friends tried and failed. Stories abound about a girl choking to death, I do not know if there is any truth to that story or not. What I do know is that the cinnamon is the bark of a tree. And when ingested by the tablespoon, it dries your mouth out and experimenters are unable to swallow the ground spice.  Usually they spit it out, desperately gasp for water and their friends stand around hysterically laughing.

I adore the taste and smell of cinnamon butI have no desire to try this. I have seen how cinnamom clumps on the top of my latte before I whisk it in. Duh!

 But  I have thought about how dry my mouth would feel. And I know how dry that would be, because I currently feel THAT dry through and through. I think about writing, I play internet games instead. I try to “de-clutter” my office; CSI On-Demand is more appealing.  We won’t even discuss my laundry.

Funk is the word of the day. Has been for the past four days. A dry, unproductive cinnamon-in-my-mouth funk.  Usually this malaise hits me between Christmas Day and New Year’s Day. This year, the funk laid in wait until after the first of the year.  Then it used all of its juice sucking power and left the dry husk of me on the couch.

I desire to get outside in the gorgeous sunny Northern California winter – yet the days drift by. I give myself kudos for reading “My Life in Paris” – at least I have the ability to enjoy life vicariously.  This is depression – this much I know to be true.

The question that needs to be answered is whether I can take care of the funk myself. Or do I need to call in the professionals? I just watched “Ghostbusters” this weekend, you can thank me later for not making any ridiculous reference to that movie.

After watching a number of the cinnamon-eater videos, (research for this article – Honest!)  I am amazed that people would try to eat the spice when they know what it does. Why do they think that their bodies will react any differently than that of the hundreds of others who have tried this stunt?  I think to myself, “Don’t do it” – and yet they do. Kind of the same way I ended up all dried up. I know the funk is coming, it does so every year – yet I do nothing to ward it off. 

What lessons did I learn from the cinnamon stunt? One, dried powdery cinnamon should not be ingested by the tablespoon. Two, mostly teenage boys try this stunt. Three, just as those teenagers chose to swallow the cinnamon, I can choose to remain dried up and funky or not.

My funk is not the issue, just like the cinnamon is not problem. How I treat my funk is the issue, do I put the entire tablespoon of cinnamon in my mouth?  Do I continue to allow it to dry me out completely or not?

Since I get to choose,  how do I add the juice back into my life? Giving my funk its due helped. Allowing it to dry me out, acknowledging that it exists, is probably just what my funk needed. But now, I get to focus on what I need.

What I need is to implement my De-Funk 2010 plan.  There is not enough space in my life for this funk to take up permanent residence and I need to be the one to banish it.

Day One De-Funk 2010

1. Step outside into the sunshine and lift my face to the sun.

2. Walk the dog around the block, off leash. (He is so much happier that way)

3. Listen to Indie.Arie to hydrate my soul.

4. and Drink lots of water to re-hydrate the rest of me.

Day Two De-Funk 2010

1. Spread some cinnamon-y goodness – Snickerdoodles for the neighbors!

2. Light a cinnamon candle and meditate on the aroma.

3. Continue drinking lots of water.

Day Three De-Funk 2010

1. Water my spirit a bit with gratitude.

2. Sing along to “Cinnamon Girl” by Neil Young (pretend I am the guitarist).

3. Sprinkle a little cinnamon into my morning cup of joe.

4. Did I mention I am drinking lots of water?  I am beginning to feel a bit spongy.

I am ending Day Three of the De-Funk 2010 Plan and I have to admit – the funk is lifting – ever so slowly. I am still dry inside, although I do feel physically hydrated, the water has helped. My creative juices are not really flowing yet, but I do hear the steady drip-drop of the faucet inside my head. I am taking that as a good sign.

My house smells fantastic. There’s a cinnamon warmth about it. That woody tang; that just slight sweet smell of cinnamon reminds me that there is something juicy out there waiting for me.

About teriost

life is good and only getting better - looking for ways to see the heart of a person each and every day - if the chatter is too loud - simply turn down the volume - but don't tune out - you might miss something grand!
This entry was posted in choices, Friends, laughing at life, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Spoonful of Cinnamon

  1. cherilaser says:

    Hi! Another De-Funk option might be the free serialized download of The Truth About Cinnamon (see my blog posts # 9 & 10). Cinnamon is a person, but I’m told she’s uplifting … 🙂

    Otherwise, I hope you’re feeling better. We have a whole, brand new year ahead of us, with endless possibilities.

    All the best,
    Cheri

    • teriost says:

      Thanks Cheri – I jumped over to you site and picked up “The Truth about Cinnamon” – I am sucked in already and I am only on page 10! I look forward to following the story – thanks for taking the time to share it! Here’s to the possibility-filled year of 2010!

      -Teri

      • cherilaser says:

        Hi, Teri! Thanks for giving Cinnamon a try! And yes, here’s to all of the possibilities! I’m looking forward to staying in touch with you.

        Cheri

Leave a Reply

