National Peanut Butter and Jelly Day

When was the last time you had a PB&J sandwich? I hadn’t made myself one in ages. Then about a week ago, I discovered a lost jar of apricot/pineapple jam, I think I received it as a gift last spring.

Today, I found out it was National Peanut Butter and Jelly Day, so I had my first sandwich in years and it sent me back to much tastier times. I mean how else could we celebrate this holiday?

First, I opened a new jar of peanut butter, peeled back the safety cap and was greeted with peanutty goodness. Who else believes that the first taste of peanut butter from the jar is the best taste you’ll bet getting? Only made even better when you scoop it with your finger.

Next, came the jam – not officially jelly, I know, but my mom only made jam, she never made jelly. It was fruity and sweet, just the right touch of pineapple.

I even bought a loaf of white bread for this most auspicious of moments. It was well worth it. I don’t think that PB&J will be making my lunch menu rounds anytime soon. But I do know that it will be added into my occasional snack rotation.

Re-discovering the PB&J fits well into my life at the moment. I have been spending the week trying be more child-like. I’ve been reading Dr. Seuss (Oh, the Places you Go), rediscovering the joys of Crayola and the peanut butter and jelly sandwich was pardon the analogy – the icing on the cake.

Approaching life from a child-like point of view has relieved some of the stress I have been feeling. It has allowed me to slow down and really enjoy this time out of work. Once I am through this phase of my life, maybe peanut butter and jelly sandwiches will come to work with me once in awhile – just as a subtle, yet tasty reminder that it is important to keep that inner child well fed.

P.S. In case you were wondering, Peanut Butter and Jelly was “officially” created by WWII soldiers who mixed their peanut butter and jelly rations.

About teriost

life is good and only getting better - looking for ways to see the heart of a person each and every day - if the chatter is too loud - simply turn down the volume - but don't tune out - you might miss something grand!
This entry was posted in childhood, delicious, national peanut butter and jelly day, sandwiches. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

